Andy Ralph

Idle Cure & The Deep Tissue

February 17 – March 25, 2017

Opening reception: Friday, February 17th from 6–9pm


New Release presents Idle Cure & The Deep Tissue, the first solo exhibition by artist Andy Ralph in New York City. In the exhibition, a new body of sculptural works trace a narrative through the use and disuse of a single-function machine: the Conair Body Tone, Model BT12.

Originally placed atop skin, BT12’s are now embedded in metal cages and abandoned platforms, stripping them of their sensual identity, and leaving them to create an oscillating drone throughout the space. As the antagonist, the BT12—with its twelve rotating fingers—makes objects feel great again, easing their tension through gentle vibrations.

Idle Cure & The Deep Tissue will be on view at New Release from February 17 – March 25, 2017, with an opening reception on Friday, February 17th from 6–9pm. Gallery hours are Friday through Sunday, 12–6pm.

Andy Ralph (b. 1982) is based in New York. Andy’s work has recently been exhibited at Small Editions, Cuevas Tilleard Projects, Mothership BnB, and Regina Rex all in NY, as well as L&M Arts in Los Angeles and the Museum of Contemporary Art in San Diego. In 2014, Andy was awarded an artist residency at Ox-Bow School of Art in Michigan.


New Release

60 Mulberry Street, New York, NY 10013

For more information, please contact